Ignition Interlock & Special Supervision Services Programs
On July 1, 2002, Section 316.193 of the Florida statutes was amended to require ignition interlock devices to be installed on the vehicles of certain persons convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. The requirement applies to first offenders who had a minor in the car during the DUI arrest, or a breath test (BAL) of .15 or above. All multiple DUI offenders are required to have ignition interlock devices installed when license eligible, as well. The Courts may also require interlock on specific cases by court order The ignition interlock device is to be installed upon eligibility of reinstatement for a permanent or restricted driver license, but prior to receiving the license.
The ignition interlock device is also required when a driver convicted of DUI applies for a restricted license for work or business purposes through the Special Supervision Services Program (s. 322.271). If the applicant is otherwise eligible, a driver license will be issued with a “P” restriction, indicating the interlock device is required. The required time period for interlock officially begins on the day the “P” interlock restriction is issued.
Most courts report DUI convictions to the DHSMV electronically. The court order should reflect both the time of suspension and the interlock requirement. The clerk of the court can verify if the electronic reporting from the court includes the ignition interlock requirement.
Persons ordered to use the ignition interlock device are responsible for the following fees, plus Florida state tax.
• Installation: $70;
• Monthly monitoring and calibration: $67.50;
• Deposit: $100 (refundable) or $5 per month insurance fee.
Ignition Interlock Office:
13208 SW 131st Street, Miami, FL 33186
Telephone number of Installation Appointments: 1-866-837-8646
Special Supervision Services
By Florida law, DUI offenders with 5-year or 10-year or permanent revocations, may apply to participate in the Special Supervision Services program (SSS). In some cases, program participants are given the opportunity to apply to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) for a restricted driver license, but it must be noted that registration in the SSS program does not guarantee that the Division of Driver Licenses will ultimately issue the restricted driver license to the applicant. To learn more about the program, including application prerequisites, program requirements and fees, click here.